Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

SCBWI New England Scholarships

In 2005, our Region lost two friends and passionate mentors—illustrator Ann Barrow and writer Ruth Landers Glass. This loss inspired the SCBWI New England Regional Team to begin a Memory Fund that now finances several annual scholarships.

The Ruth Landers Glass Scholarship is awarded to a writer based on the quality of a submitted writing sample. The Ann Barrow Scholarship is awarded to an illustrator based on the quality of a submitted portfolio of ten images. Both winners receive one day’s free tuition to the SCBWI New England event of their choice during the next calendar year.

The Ruth Landers Glass Scholarship Winners
2006 Kimberly Marcus for EXPOSED
2007 Elizabeth Quinn for LEAVING JIM
2008 Joan Paquette for LUCHI, UNDAUNTED
2009 Jennifer Carson for THE DRAGON TAPESTRIES
2010 Shoshanna Wingate for THE DREAMLANDS
2011 Betsy Devany for SAVANNAH’S MOUNTAIN
2012 Kip Wilson Rechea for THE GIRL WHO SLEPT IN THE POET’S EAR
2013 Nancy Tandon for SAY MY NAME
2014 Mary Cronin for MENDERS
2015 Sarah Ignatius for The DEVIL’S KALEIDOSCOPE
2016 Jeanne Zulick Ferruolo for RUBY IN THE SKY
2017 Rebekah Lowell for
2018 Cassie Gustafson for ISLAND OF LOST SOULS
2019 Kimberly Mach for PRESENT, STILL MISSING

The Ann Barrow Scholarship Winners
2006 Lesley Breen Withrow
2007 Sarah Brannen
2008 Jennifer Carson
2009 Michelle Henniger
2010 Marit Menzin
2011 Claudette Lambert Peterson
2012 Marcella Staudenmaier
2013 Brianne Hills
2014 Sarita Rich
2015 Rongyuan Ma
2016 Laura Ferraro Close
2017 Elena Pavlova
2018 Dan Travis
2019 Marietta Apollonio

In 2013, our Region added The Marguerite W. Davol Picture Book Critique Scholarship to commemorate another beloved, longtime member. It is awarded to one published member and one pre-published member for a picture book manuscript each January. Winners get the opportunity to work with a mentor and then receive a free manuscript critique at the annual New England Spring Conference.

The Peg Davol Scholarship Winners
2013 Published: Dana Rau for ONCE UPON A WAND
Pre-Published: Tamara Ellis Smith for HERE AND THERE

2014 Published: Mary Morton Cowan for LITTLE BROWN THRUSH
Pre-Published: Matthew Forrest Esenwine for FLASHLIGHT NIGHT

2015 Published: Deborah Bruss for GOOD MORNING SNOWPLOW
Pre-published: Carrie Finnison for ON A RAIN FOREST NIGHT

2016 Published: Doe Boyle for CROOKED ROAD, CROOKED TUNE
Pre-Published: Marianne Kuzujanakis for LET THEM FLY

2017 Published: Vivian Kirkfield for SCULPTING STORIES
Pre-Published: Rebecca Caprara for IF YOU CATCH A STORY

2018 Published: Thea Guidone for SLOTH IN A BOAT
Pre-Published: Maureen Houlihan for PILLOWED BY SKY

In 2017, Co-Regional Advisor Marilyn Salerno suggested establishing The Jane Yolen NESCBWI Scholarship to recognize Jane Yolen’s tremendous contribution to the New England SCBWI Region, which she founded in 1972. Jane began SCBWI’s first regional conference and first critique group here in New England and served as our RA for a decade. Jane was also a member of the SCBWI Board of Advisors from its inception until her retirement in 2019 and has mentored countless authors through the years.

Each year at the NESCBWI regional conference, Jane randomly draws a name out of a bucket, and the winner receives free tuition to the next year’s conference. The only qualification is that the winner must be a member of SCBWI.

The Jane Yolen NESCBWI Scholarship Winners
2017 Rebecca Caprara, Shirley Fadden
2018 Katerina Von Campe
2019 Maya Elson

Also in 2017, Co-Regional Advisor Sally Riley suggested establishing The Peter Davis Emerging Illustrator Scholarship to honor illustrator, writer, and longtime member Peter Davis, who provided an exemplary model of the quiet, steadfast work dedicated SCBWI volunteers do behind the scenes with little recognition. Peter created the NESCBWI regional listserv as well as another listserv specifically for illustrators in 1999. He moderated the NESCBWI regional listserv until 2008, but even after stepping down from that post, he continued to help the new moderator, Sally Riley, whenever she needed it until his death on July 11, 2018.

Beginning in 2018, this scholarship is awarded to one unpublished illustrator member based on a submission of up to five illustrations. The winner receives free tuition for one day of the NESCBWI conference.

The Peter Davis Emerging Illustrator Scholarship Winners
2018 Elissa Turnbull
2019 Kari Percival

In 2018, Co-Illustrator Coordinator Jeanette Bradley proposed the creation of The Windows & Mirrors Scholarships with the goal of broadening access to the NESCBWI programming and supporting diverse voices. Each year, three book creators from historically marginalized and underrepresented groups will receive free tuition to the NESCBWI annual conference. Two additional recipients from historically marginalized and underrepresented groups will receive free tuition at a NESCBWI Agent/Editor Day.

The Windows & Mirrors Scholarships Winners
2019 Mitu Malhotra, Loretta Brady, Ken Daley (annual conference)